Cheap cameras from New York.



This is going around the web, but I thought I'd throw in my warning as well. When shopping for cameras or electronics, a froogle, ebay or quick price search will often turn up some deals that seem too good to be true. Usually, the place in question is out of New York somewhere, but it could be anywhere, since believe it or not, sometimes people lie on the internet. I know! Shocking! Anyways. If M.S.R.P. on your camera is $1200, circuit city has it at $999, B&H at $899 then finding it at TooGoodToBeTruePhoto for $599 is not a good thing. Walk away. The scam works this way: You place the order, someone calls to "verify your safety information" and then upsells you on batteries, cases, memory cards and high profit margin accessories. If you refuse that crap, sellers have been known to be very agressive and/or cancel your order. Even some sellers with high yahoo reseller ratings are suspect. Do a google search of the store's name with "scam" and see what comes up. It is good to do your homework before you buy and pay the lowest price. It is not good to buy from scam artists. It's just not worth the hassle. You've been warned now. O.K. I can sleep better knowing the webverse is safe. Oh.. and the other day when I was doing a wire transfer at my bank, the banker asked me what it was for and I leaned forward and said "you wouldn't believe this, but this Nigerian guy inherited 10 million dollars and he wants me to help him get it out of the country". and did the banker smile at all? Didn't even blink.

In my mind. I thought it was funny.

P.S. I buy from www.bhphotovideo.com. I've also heard good things about adorama. You can find surprisingly good deals at Dell for cameras too. If you normally just pay retail then this post was meaningless to you and you are not asian. In asian families, paying full price is a sin. It also went with the family saying: "waste not, go to hell not".

Posted: Fri - December 2, 2005 at 06:41 AM          


©